Skip links

Racegoers Consultative Forum

Facilitated by Horse Racing Ireland, the Racegoers’ Consultative Forum has 14 members drawn from all over the country. The forum is a Statutory Committee established under the Horse and Greyhound Racing Act 2001 to represent the views of racegoers to the Board of Horse Racing Ireland. The forum is chaired by Paul Dermody, who is Director of Commercial and Marketing & CEO of HRI Racecourses.

If you have ideas about how to improve the experience of racegoers at Irish race meetings, the Racegoers’ Consultative Forum members in your area are there to listen. The aim of the forum is to improve the race-going experience for both new and regular racegoers.

Every year, members of the forum vote on the winner of the ‘Racecourse of the Year’ award, which is presented at the Horse Racing Ireland Awards.

The Forum members meet every quarter with senior executives of Horse Racing Ireland.

Greater Dublin Region: Bellewstown, Fairyhouse, Kilbeggan, Laytown, Leopardstown, Navan

Ben Dorney

Ministerial Appointee

You can email Ben at

John Bannon

Greater Dublin Representative

You can email John at

South-west Region: Tipperary, Limerick, Cork, Killarney, Listowel

David O’Connor

Ministerial Appointee

You can email David at

South-east Region: Clonmel, Gowran Park, Thurles, Tramore, Wexford

Tom Galway

You can email Tom at

Mark McGrath

You can email Mark at

Northern Region: Downpatrick, Down Royal

Steven McGuinness

You can email Steven at

North-east Region: Downpatrick, Down Royal, Dundalk

Eugene Kelly

You can email Eugene at

Student Representative

Heather Downey

You can email Heather at

Kara Gabbett

You can email Kara at